I am a metal monkey!
Administrator Community Supporter?
Jedai Sword Master
Gender:
Posts: 8357
43129 credits Members referred : 3
« on: Jan 19, 2006, 06:18:28 PM »
Today I recieved a pm by a member of this forum (I wont tell who, if he want, he can participate to this thread) about the sleekpixel.net site.
This domain seems to have fake pr. And the problem is that we sell links to this site from forum's shop. Well as you can see in the shop, is still on sale, but with no mention on the PR of the page.
I believe that Meth0d (who owns the site) is not a scammer, as he bought this site recently from another member of the forum. So it would be propably impossible to cloack the site himself. The relative thread of the sale is here.
As I can't be sure who cloacked the pr of this page I will leave it this way, hoping that we will not have a problem like that in the future.
I am a metal monkey!
Administrator Community Supporter?
Jedai Sword Master
Gender:
Posts: 8357
43129 credits Members referred : 3
« Reply #2 on: Jan 19, 2006, 08:38:51 PM »
Here is how people fake their pr :
They put in their site a moved permanantly header in their site, pointing to a high pr site. This header will be sent only to search engine crawlers.
If you search in Google www.sleekpixel.net, it returns the home page of www.cc2005.com and it should show the home page of sleekpixel. I suppose that the guy sold this domain to Meth0d was doing this during the last pr update to sell the site easier.
Global Moderator
Internet Junkie
Gender:
Posts: 1807
9006 credits Members referred : 6
« Reply #3 on: Jan 19, 2006, 08:49:15 PM »
just found a fake pagerank checking tool: http://www.seologs.com/pr-check/pagerank.html Turns out that my site that suddenly jumped from PR4 to PR7 also has a fake pagerank Here's what happened: the hosting company I previously used suddenly moved to a new server (without telling their customers ) so now all the sites hosted on that server (I know of at least 25, but probably even more) where all pointing to one website. There where quite a few sites with high pagerank on the server, so now all these sites pageranks where combined to give that one site a really high pagerank.
aka J Love Community Supporter?
Bill Gates is my home boy
Gender:
Posts: 884
1636 credits Members referred : 4
« Reply #7 on: Jan 20, 2006, 03:12:03 AM »
wel i apologize to anyone who felt they have been misled, please note that i am doing all i can to raise the PR of sleekpixel to a real 6, but can not find any one to sell links on high PR sites
How do google detect you? Do they have a bit in their crawler to check for it?
I don't think they do thats why it works in the first place. However on the next pagerank update your pagerank will be updated to it's correct value I bet
Dell? Like the pickle?
Posts: 199
152 credits Members referred : 0
« Reply #12 on: Jan 20, 2006, 09:32:42 AM »
I read about this on a blog and it interested me. For now on I always check www.iwebtool.com/pagerank_prediction when you click (check) the tool will show you the strength of the backlinks.
aka J Love Community Supporter?
Bill Gates is my home boy
Gender:
Posts: 884
1636 credits Members referred : 4
« Reply #13 on: Jan 20, 2006, 10:10:41 AM »
yes i know of iweb tool i even have some of their tools on my site, i check daily
Well, as long as concern to fake PR -- Its not only quite possible but its very easy that anyone with little knowledge of .htaccess or any server side programming can easily do it. Only you have to do is detect googlebot (or it IP) and redirect it to any PR page which you want to fake, saying Moved Permenently! Google will cache that page and that apperantly will have the PR of the page to which you redirected googlebot, after one PR update.
While some webmasters use diffrent tools to check PR, all of them give the fake PR -- the only way to find is query google with full site name like www.sleekpixel.net and you are there .. you will find the target site to which googlebot is redirected. The disadvantage of having fake PR is that your page will not indexed in google. The only purpose which is left is selling the links, and which meth0d is doing. Because if i were owner of the site .. i would develop a website (may be like million dollar pixel site) and sell links for much more than $10 per link. And people would be buying because of PR6
Even if you try, link:www.sleekpixel.net it will give 208 backlinks -- lolz u know what is amazing? open any page of them and try to find the link to sleekpixel .. you wont find .. fishy? yes!! And also, if you query link:www.cc2005.com it will result 208 links .. why exactly same number of links and exactly same pages? Just because sleekpixel is permenently redirected to that.
Another good example of fake PR is http://pr10.darkseoteam.com/ .. try link:www.pr10.darseoteam.com .. it will give backlinks equal to www.google.com .. is it possible? No way .. its just because they are faking PR of www.google.com .. thats why to find it: search google for pr10.darseoteam.com .. you will get www.google.com as a result.
Moreover, search for fake PR on google and read some articles .. most of you are programmers and will understand much faster than i did. As i am not a programmer.
The only thing which made us think that meth0d is scaming is "Why he is selling PR6 links for $10" and also promised no more than 20 links per page (i think i read this statement somewhere, sorry if its not so) .. so in other words he is selling whole PR6 page for $200 ? Will you sell the links so cheap if you have PR6 Page? Whats your answer is mine.
I just told you guys my opinion and the facts involving fake PR -- you can search yourself to find that if SleekPixel.Net is faking PR or not.
Edit: One more thing -- some days before i read the post of meth0d in a thread in this forum, he was asking
Quote
does neone have a good list of the IP#'s of various search engine bots like google, yahoo, msn, etc.. ?
According to him he need for some 'good' purpose -- but .... I dont believe!
Most people looking for IPs of bots are potentially involved in cloaking (faking PR is also a kind of cloaking) or fake PR stuff.
« Last Edit: Jan 20, 2006, 12:31:47 PM by Prince »
aka J Love Community Supporter?
Bill Gates is my home boy
Gender:
Posts: 884
1636 credits Members referred : 4
« Reply #15 on: Jan 20, 2006, 03:44:50 PM »
so you are sayin that i requested the IP#'s of bots, so that i could fake the PR of sleekpixel. maybe you need to look deeper into this before stating your opinion. domain was transferred to me roughly maybe 2 weeks ago at most. when i acquired it, it was redirected to cc2005.com, but it was a suspended page, because the hosting for that domain was SUSPENDED. that is how i suppose the PR 6 came about, seeing as the REAL PR of sleek pixel is currently a real 3, after checking it. i had nothing to do with the 6, but it is now "predicted" at 4-5 so it will raise to a real 6 eventually, anyway. and my purpose for asking for bot IP#'s is simply so that I can identify them when i am monitoring visitors with the popular Help Center Live, but it was useless, because all "bots" are listed blank in the monitor window. since you wanted to elaborate your opinion, here are the facts. next time please ask before stating.
edit: please note that the cc2005 and suspended page were because of previous owner. now it should not have anything to do with either, and google should update this soon with the new site, and new links. all will be fixed soon.
« Last Edit: Jan 20, 2006, 03:49:42 PM by Meth0d »
Global Moderator
Internet Junkie
Gender:
Posts: 1807
9006 credits Members referred : 6
« Reply #16 on: Jan 20, 2006, 06:50:44 PM »
Prince: Meth0d is not trying to pull a scam here, yes his pr is fake we already know that and if you look a few posts up I've posted a tool to check for fake pr. Stop accusing him of scamming, meth0d can't help it and it will all be fixed with the next pr update which is taking place within the next couple of days. I know exactly how it is, as the same thing happend to two of my own sites, they suddenly jumped from PR4 to PR7 because the hosting company desided to move one of their servers to a new ip address without telling anyone. Kind of convenient for them that they did this at about the same time as google was updating their backlinks... I've payed for a link on www.sleekpixel.net and I dont regret it, a pr4 link is good enough for me, and I'm sure it will go up. Meth0d is clean in my book. Oh and I've got to thank you on behalf of Meth0d for some extra back links to www.sleekpixel.net in your post