28, May 2012

Infected directory submission service - webmaster forum

 
Webdigity webmaster forums
[ Home | Help | Search | Forum's Shop | Archive | Login | Register | Webmaster Directory ]
Webdigity Webmaster Forums  >  Web Development  >  Security
Topic: Infected directory submission service
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Instabuck - The easy way to sell digital products online

Author Topic: Infected directory submission service  (Read 2440 times)
WebDigity Gangsta
***
Posts: 105
564 credits
Members referred : 0



« on: Apr 16, 2006, 11:40:25 am »

I was testing a new "free" directory submission service and after I submitted one of my sites to the first directories I noticed that my computer started downloading some weird files and my anti-virus software was turned off.

It turned out that my computer got infected by W32/Sober@MM!M681. So much for this free submission service!

As soon as I had cleaned my hard drives from trojans I came here to warn everyone about www. 1ps .biz (without spaces).
I am a metal monkey!
Administrator
Community Supporter ?
Jedai Sword Master
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 5799
46391 credits
Members referred : 3



« Reply #1 on: Apr 16, 2006, 02:19:49 pm »

Have you tried to contact the owners of this site?

BTW what browser you used to do the submittions? (my guess is that you have IE)

Trial and Error my two best teachers Cool
Join us @ facebook or twitter

Last blog : Butterfly Marketing 2.0
WebDigity Gangsta
***
Posts: 105
564 credits
Members referred : 0



« Reply #2 on: Apr 16, 2006, 02:38:44 pm »

I used IE (hadn't installed Firefox on my new computer), so I guess it's my own fault....

I tried to contact the web site owner, but I haven't heard anything yet.

The web site is hosted in Russia (at webspace.ru) and the IP address is blacklisted for spam (multiple time) so I guess they will not care or maybe they don't know how to remove the trojans(?). Last time the IP was blacklisted was today (the 16th of April).
I am a metal monkey!
Administrator
Community Supporter ?
Jedai Sword Master
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 5799
46391 credits
Members referred : 3



« Reply #3 on: Apr 16, 2006, 02:45:22 pm »

I've just checked the spam list for the referer spam tool and they are on it too ( http://www.thetopsites.net/referer_spam/index.php?trg=spamblacklist )

Trial and Error my two best teachers Cool
Join us @ facebook or twitter

Last blog : Butterfly Marketing 2.0
WebDigity Gangsta
***
Posts: 105
564 credits
Members referred : 0



« Reply #4 on: Apr 16, 2006, 02:52:25 pm »

Maybe I should sent an email to godaddy because the domain name is registered thru them.
I am a metal monkey!
Administrator
Community Supporter ?
Jedai Sword Master
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 5799
46391 credits
Members referred : 3



« Reply #5 on: Apr 16, 2006, 02:56:23 pm »

That's a good idea. BTW if they send you a reply let us know Smiley

Trial and Error my two best teachers Cool
Join us @ facebook or twitter

Last blog : Butterfly Marketing 2.0
Pinoy Webmaster
.com pimp
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1126
6048 credits
Members referred : 0


Philippine Beaches


« Reply #6 on: Apr 17, 2006, 03:20:49 am »

forgive me for my ignorance. why is it called referer spam?


Last blog : Bingag Beach, Bohol, Philippines
WebDigity Gangsta
***
Posts: 105
564 credits
Members referred : 0



« Reply #7 on: Apr 17, 2006, 07:53:59 am »

It's because they use a spider that visits domain names and fake a referring URL. THat way their own web site show up in your log files. Some people do not have their stats password protected so for example Google and other search engines find hte links so the spammer gets higher link popularity.

I don't know if Google has already found out this and are ignoring links in stats pages? Anyone know?

BTW I just got a mail from one of the sites I submitted my URL to. Looks like 1ps has been blocked from submitting to some sites.
Quote
Date: Mon, 17 Apr 2006 02:00:01 -0700 (GMT)
To: <>
From: <>(SECRET FFA)
Subject: #######  STOP posting to my F F A site!  #######

Title: Xavier Media
URL: http://www. .com/
Submitted by: no @ spam .com
IP: *.*.*.99

Thanks for submitting your site to our high-traffic F F A Links page.

http://www. .com/

#####################################
#####################################

"STOP posting to my F F A site!"

You are wasting your time, because NO ONE
is going to see your ad!

Read the F.REE report that reveals the shocking
TRUTH behind all those "we'll put your ad on
500,000 sites for f.ree" programs!

http:// .com/

######################################
######################################
I am a metal monkey!
Administrator
Community Supporter ?
Jedai Sword Master
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 5799
46391 credits
Members referred : 3



« Reply #8 on: Apr 17, 2006, 10:13:19 am »

forgive me for my ignorance. why is it called referer spam?

It is called referer spam or statistics spam, because the spammer uses a referer header to visit your site using a bot. This way, when you check your statistics you'll see some referring sites, that are actually fake hits. You can see more information here :

http://www.thetopsites.net/referer_spam/

Quote
I don't know if Google has already found out this and are ignoring links in stats pages? Anyone know?

The bad news is that none have done something for this, and that's the reason that referer spam is growing. On the url above is a tool that I made before some time, that helps restrict access to those scamers.

Trial and Error my two best teachers Cool
Join us @ facebook or twitter

Last blog : Butterfly Marketing 2.0
Pinoy Webmaster
.com pimp
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1126
6048 credits
Members referred : 0


Philippine Beaches


« Reply #9 on: Apr 17, 2006, 10:28:51 am »

oh ok, now i know... thanks for taking the time to explain to me, both of you.


Last blog : Bingag Beach, Bohol, Philippines
Trackback URI for this entry : http://www.webdigity.com/trackback.php?topic=2280
Tags : google internet explorer firefox browsers email Bookmark this thread : Digg Del.icio.us Dzone more....

Pages: [1] Print 
Webdigity Webmaster Forums  >  Web Development  >  Security
Topic: Infected directory submission service
« previous next »
Jump to:
User Area
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 28, 2012, 11:31:01 am





Login with username, password and session length

Donate to our community, and get a permanent link back to your site!

Donate to our community, and get a permanent link back to your site!






Web Design Gallery · Whois Lookup · Pagerank · Tag Browsing · Lo-fi version · Syndication · Webmaster forum history · Advertise
Developed by HumanWorks © 2005 - 2012 Webdigity webmaster community · sublime directory
Webdigity Webmaster Forums | Powered by SMF 1.0.12. © 2001-2005, Lewis Media. All Rights Reserved.