28, May 2012

Who is this? - webmaster forum

 
Webdigity webmaster forums
[ Home | Help | Search | Forum's Shop | Archive | Login | Register | Webmaster Directory ]
Webdigity Webmaster Forums  >  Design and Layout  >  General webmaster discussions (Moderator: Meth0d)
Topic: Who is this?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Instabuck - The easy way to sell digital products online

Author Topic: Who is this?  (Read 1353 times)
Hehe. I made your website....
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 85
592 credits
Members referred : 0


Philippine Marketing Guy


« on: Sep 13, 2006, 05:49:50 pm »

Okay, I am quite bothered by someone or something that has been lurking on my forums, Webmaster Forum Philippines . The ip is 66.249.65.15

I searched it on a whois site. the nameservers were NameServer: NS1.GOOGLE.COM,  etc.

Is this the googlebot?
I am a metal monkey!
Administrator
Community Supporter ?
Jedai Sword Master
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 5799
46391 credits
Members referred : 3



« Reply #1 on: Sep 13, 2006, 05:58:53 pm »

Propably yes

Trial and Error my two best teachers Cool
Join us @ facebook or twitter

Last blog : Butterfly Marketing 2.0
Hehe. I made your website....
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 85
592 credits
Members referred : 0


Philippine Marketing Guy


« Reply #2 on: Sep 13, 2006, 06:06:29 pm »

Hmm.. that's a good thing I guess. I was thinking that someone was stalking me. hehe. Thanks as always.

Off-topic: Is there a way to track its ip down like the one that you are using? I notice that you have "Yahoo crawler", "Googlebot" as users in the forum.
I am a metal monkey!
Administrator
Community Supporter ?
Jedai Sword Master
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 5799
46391 credits
Members referred : 3



« Reply #3 on: Sep 13, 2006, 06:13:44 pm »

You can track through the user agent, not the ip.

There is a mod for that in the SMF site. Webdigity's is a custom one.

Trial and Error my two best teachers Cool
Join us @ facebook or twitter

Last blog : Butterfly Marketing 2.0
Spy Agent
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 113
70 credits
Members referred : 0


« Reply #4 on: Sep 23, 2006, 05:11:56 pm »

crawl-66-249-65-15.googlebot.com  Thats the hostname
I am a metal monkey!
Administrator
Community Supporter ?
Jedai Sword Master
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 5799
46391 credits
Members referred : 3



« Reply #5 on: Sep 24, 2006, 11:09:35 am »

As I said check the user agent. In php you can do this, this way :

Code:
<?php
if ( strstr($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], "Googlebot" ) == true )
{
    
//Do something
}

Also check this : http://googlewebmastercentral.blogspot.com/2006/09/how-to-verify-googlebot.html

Trial and Error my two best teachers Cool
Join us @ facebook or twitter

Last blog : Butterfly Marketing 2.0
Trackback URI for this entry : http://www.webdigity.com/trackback.php?topic=4083
Tags : php forums simple machines forum whois Bookmark this thread : Digg Del.icio.us Dzone more....

Pages: [1] Print 
Webdigity Webmaster Forums  >  Design and Layout  >  General webmaster discussions (Moderator: Meth0d)
Topic: Who is this?
« previous next »
Jump to:
User Area
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 28, 2012, 02:39:22 pm





Login with username, password and session length

Donate to our community, and get a permanent link back to your site!

Donate to our community, and get a permanent link back to your site!






Web Design Gallery · Whois Lookup · Pagerank · Tag Browsing · Lo-fi version · Syndication · Webmaster forum history · Advertise
Developed by HumanWorks © 2005 - 2012 Webdigity webmaster community · sublime directory
Webdigity Webmaster Forums | Powered by SMF 1.0.12. © 2001-2005, Lewis Media. All Rights Reserved.