Google dot what?
Posts: 2
12 credits Members referred : 0
« Reply #5 on: Sep 06, 2007, 01:10:45 PM »
My humble website www.stockpix.co.nz appears on this list. I discovered this via a google search. I don't understand exactly what this list represents but I don't think appearing on it is a good thing. I am not a spammer and haven't intentionally done anything wrong. Can somebody enlighten me? (in layman's terms)
I am a metal monkey!
Administrator Community Supporter?
Jedai Sword Master
Gender:
Posts: 7931
40535 credits Members referred : 3
« Reply #6 on: Sep 06, 2007, 01:17:18 PM »
Hello Steve. This list is not 100% accurate. I was trying to figure it out, and here is the reason. For instance someone is checking your domain with our seo tool and then visits your site. Then you look in your stats and click to see what is this link about.
As my bot wont be able to access your password protected page it will check this site as a spammer. Anyway sorry for that problem, I have removed your site from the list anyway.
Global Moderator
Internet Junkie
Gender:
Posts: 1807
9006 credits Members referred : 6
« Reply #7 on: Sep 06, 2007, 01:23:03 PM »
If you have a link to webdigity on your website and someone clicks on the link, your website will show up as referrer. This way we can see where our visitors come from.
It is possible to send fake referrer information to a website, which makes a website show up in the stats that didn't actually send any traffic: referrer spam. The main thought behind this is to get more links to the spam website, since the stats on some sites are freely accessible.
How have you been promoting your website? If you don't know how you got on the list I would say its most likely that you have outsourced search engine optimization to some dodgy SEO firm that uses black hat techniques...
Google dot what?
Posts: 2
12 credits Members referred : 0
« Reply #8 on: Sep 07, 2007, 07:30:11 AM »
Thanks for removing me from the list Nikolas
Mind_nl : no, I haven't been using any black hat SEO firms. However, I did use wholinks2me.com to check for links to my site, and now google returns dozens of references to my site on wholinks2me.com, alongside lots of other sites, many of them very dodgy sounding. Do you think this is the cause of the problem?
Cheers, Steve
Global Moderator
Internet Junkie
Gender:
Posts: 1807
9006 credits Members referred : 6
« Reply #9 on: Sep 07, 2007, 10:17:53 AM »
A quick look at Google didn't show me any links to your site from dodgy websites, in fact it didn't find many links at all. Looks like you could do with some link building for your website. Have a look around our forums, there are many topics on this subject here.
Like Nikolas said: the list isn't 100% accurate, you are just one of the unlucky ones that got included by mistake, but that has been fixed now.
Just another rainy day
Posts: 1
6 credits Members referred : 0
« Reply #10 on: Nov 13, 2007, 10:37:15 PM »
Hi Nikolas,
I think I have the same problem as stevemw. Could you please check and remove my site (www.rudibela.com) from the infamous list as definitely I did not do any spamming of webdigity forum.
Thank you,
rudi
Trackback URI for this entry : http://www.webdigity.com/trackback.php?topic=4735