6, July 2008

mods please read this- One of your members is trying to sell my domain - webmaster forum

 
Webdigity webmaster forums
This forum shares its ad revenue with its members!
[ Home | Help | Search | Forum's Shop | Archive | Login | Register | Webmaster Directory ]
Webdigity Webmaster Forums  >  WebDigity Community  >  Forum Lounge
Topic: mods please read this- One of your members is trying to sell my domain
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print

Author Topic: mods please read this- One of your members is trying to sell my domain  (Read 303 times)
I crack Photoshop!
*
Posts: 3
22 credits
Members referred : 0


« on: Aug 20, 2007, 10:36:41 AM »

  Hello, I couldnt find a "contact us" so I am typing this here. 

  I was contacted by a buyer who told me about seeing my "Ad" here.  He provided the link to me:


Sorry for the delayed reply.  I originally saw the domain on WebDigity.com:

http://www.webdigity.com/index.php/topic,6659.0.pave.info+is+for+sale.html Visit through proxy

  I have owned this domain for almost a year and this was posted 3 months ago
«  on: May 30, 2007, 07:15:24 PM »

  I dont know what this guy is upto but this is NOT his domain to sell!  ANyways can you delete his post?

thanks, Gary.

his info:

domain_sales
Robot
Bill Gates is my home boy
****
Posts: 690
3370 credits
Members referred : 0


Global Moderator
Internet Junkie
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1807
9006 credits
Members referred : 6



« Reply #1 on: Aug 20, 2007, 10:47:09 AM »

That 'member' is not a real person but a bot. It found the domain for sale at sedo.com and posted it here. If your domain is not for sale, I guess you'll have to contact sedo.com about it.


Last blog : Are You Stumbling Yet?
I crack Photoshop!
*
Posts: 3
22 credits
Members referred : 0


« Reply #2 on: Aug 20, 2007, 10:56:18 AM »

  Why would you post it here?  To generate key words for search?  To get referral from sedo?  Or it was such a good deal you thought you would post to your members?  Just at a loss why someone would post my domain.  Im not angry now that I found out Im not being scammed but just confused.

thanks for your quick response, Gary,
I am a metal monkey!
Administrator
Community Supporter ?
Jedai Sword Master
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 7931
40535 credits
Members referred : 3



« Reply #3 on: Aug 20, 2007, 11:37:22 AM »

Gary don't worry Smiley We are just affiliated to Sedo and we post domains from their marketplace using the "domain_sales" user (it is not a user but a bot)

In fact it is very possible that the client found you through our forum Smiley

Trial and Error my two best teachers Cool
Promote your blog for free.... Visit through proxy

Last blog : Keep it Legal - Tims guide to legal notices
Tim Nash
Global Moderator
Community Supporter ?
Internet Junkie
*****
Posts: 2172
5030 credits
Members referred : 2


Venture Skills - New Media & IT group


« Reply #4 on: Aug 20, 2007, 11:38:51 AM »

The bot picks up interesting domains at sedo and posts them here, for the members convince, several of us are into domain acquisition and so will keep an eye on what domains are being sold etc,

The bots results are not crawled and are private for members so no need to panic, though if you haven't put your site on sedo you best contact them Wink

Would you like to be an SEO, let me help with, The Tim Nash introduction to SEO Visit through proxy alternatively for Social media optimisation take a look at the Venture Skills Blog Visit through proxy

Last blog : Its all in the mp3s
I crack Photoshop!
*
Posts: 3
22 credits
Members referred : 0


« Reply #5 on: Aug 20, 2007, 07:47:39 PM »

  Thanks for answering my questions.  Like I said before I'm not mad, just wanted to see why my domain was listed here (just glad nobody was being scammed).

thanks again, Gary
buckshotdots.com
Trackback URI for this entry : http://www.webdigity.com/trackback.php?topic=7020
Tags : scam Bookmark this thread : Digg Del.icio.us Dzone more....

Topic sponsors:
Get a permanent link here for $1.99!


Pages: [1] Print 
Webdigity Webmaster Forums  >  WebDigity Community  >  Forum Lounge
Topic: mods please read this- One of your members is trying to sell my domain
« previous next »
Jump to:
User Area
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Jul 06, 2008, 07:41:56 AM





Login with username, password and session length

Donate to our community, and get a permanent link back to your site!

Donate to our community, and get a permanent link back to your site!


Forum Statistics
Total Posts: 35.548
Total Topics: 7.348
Total Members: 3.648
Tutorials : 56
Resources : 143
Designs : 220
Latest Member: mybaseballcards

21 Guests, 3 Users online :

12 users online today:



Readers

Web Design Gallery · Whois Lookup · Pagerank · Tag Browsing · Lo-fi version · Syndication · Webmaster forum history · Advertise
Developed by HumanWorks © 2005 - 2008 Webdigity webmaster community · sublime directory
Webdigity Webmaster Forums | Powered by SMF 1.0.12. © 2001-2005, Lewis Media. All Rights Reserved.